2024 Conference Keynote Speakers

Stephen Chadwick

Lecturer in astronomy and philosophy at Massey University, including teaching theoretical and practical astrophotography

Johan Eklöf

Ecologist, expert on effect of light pollution on bats, author of the Darkness Manifesto, Ulricehamm (nr Gothenburg), Sweden

Bridgette Farnworth

PhD in Behavioural Ecology & Conservation Biology from the University of Waikato

Joan Marie Galat

Children’s author, including Dark Matters—Nature’s Reaction to Light Pollution, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Philippa Gander

Emeritus Professor of Chronobiology, expert on sleep and circadian rhythm, Massey University, Palmerston North, NZ

Ruskin Hartley

Executive Director
International Dark Sky Association, Tucson Arizona, USA
Annika Jägerbrand

Dr Annika Jägerbrand (SE)

Chair,  CIE Technical committee 4-61 “Artificial Lighting and its Impact on the Natural Environment”

Susan Mander

Illumination engineer,
measuring light pollution,
Massey University,
Palmerston North, NZ

Mario Motta

Formerly American Medical Association, amateur astronomer, Boston, MA, USA

Carol Redford

Founder of Astrotourism WA, leading advocate for astrotourism and dark skies in Australia, Perth, WA, Australia

Connie Walker

Astronomer, advocate for dark skies with the IAU, co-director of Center for Protection of Dark Skies (CPS), Tucson, AZ, USA

Yana Yakushina

Lawyer and expert on legislation for light pollution control, Ghent, Belgium

2019 Conference Contributing Speakers

  • Karen Arthur, Department of the Environment and Energy, Australian Government, Canberra, ACT, Australia
  • Paul Bogard, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
  • Ralph Bradley, Wai-iti Nelson
  • Alistair Brickell, Stargazers B&B and Astronomy Tours, Whitianga, Coromandel, NZ
  • Steve Butler, RASNZ Dark Skies Group, Invercargill
  • Sean Cain, Associate Professor of Sleep and Circadian Medicine, School of Psychological Sciences, Monash University, Melbourne, Vic, Australia
  • Victoria Campbell, University of Otago, Ngai Tahu Kotai Mano Kaika
  • Mike Chapman, Sydney Outdoor Lighting Improvement Society (SOLIS), Sydney,  Australia
  • Ricky Clarkson, Greater Wellington Regional Council, Wainuiomata-Orongorongo Dark-sky Project
  • Hinerangi Curtis, University of Canterbury senior astronomy student
  • Jeff Dalley, Department of Conservation, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Adam Dalton, International Dark Sky Places Program Manager, IDA, Tucson Arizona, USA
  • Nalayini and Gareth Davies, Auckland NZ (Nalayini Davies, ASTRONZ and Auckland Astronomical Society)
  • The Hon Jacqui Dean, National MP for the Waitaki
  • Robert Dick, CEO at the Canadian Lighting Company, Ontario, Canada
  • Alicia Dimovski, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia
  • Fabio Falchi, Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologia dell’Inquinamento Luminoso (Light Pollution Science and Technology Institute), 36016 Thiene, Italy
  • Mike Geddis, EnergyLight, Christchurch
  • Alan Gilmore and Pam Kilmartin, Mt John Observatory, University of Canterbury
  • Al and Patricia (Annie) Grauer, Cosmic Campground, New Mexico, USA
  • Charlotte Harley, Elan Valley Trust, Powys, Wales
  • Ruskin Hartley, Executive Director of the International Dark Sky Association, Tucson, Arizona, USA
  • Professor John Hearnshaw, Chair of Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve Board
  • Gareth Hughes, Member of Parliament and Green Party Tourism Spokesperson
  • Chris Kyba, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Potsdam, Germany
  • Phil Langill, Rothney Astrophysical Observatory, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada (with Suzanne Oel (Foothills County), Greg Shyba (ASCCA) & Roland Dechesne (RASC)
  • Lei Ping, China Biodiversity Conservation and Green Development Fund (CBCGDF), Shenzen, Guangdong Province, China
  • Liu Hao, China Biodiversity Conservation and Green Development Fund (CBCGDF), Shangrao City, Jiangxi Province, China
  • Damien McNamara, North Otago Astronomical Society, Oamaru, NZ
  • Professor Rudi Marquez, Head of School of Physical and Chemical
    Sciences, University of Canterbury
  • Megan Miller, Mackenzie Region Trade & Media Marketing Executive, Christchurch, NZ and Jason Menard, Mackenzie Region Digital Marketing Executive,  Christchurch, NZ
  • Lara and David Mitchell, Lumican, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Marnie Ogg, Sydney, Australia – Australasian Dark Sky Alliance
  • Hendra Agus Prastyo, Bosscha Observatory, Institut Teknologi Bandung, Bandung, Indonesia
  • Premana Premadi, Bosscha Observatory, Institut Teknologi Bandung, Bandung, Indonesia
  • Ken Ross, Far North District Council, Kaikohe, NZ
  • Clive Ruggles, University of Leicester, UK
  • Karen Pollard, School of Physical and Chemical Sciences, University of Canterbury, Director Mt John Observatory, Lake Tekapo
  • Clare Quirke, Selwyn District Council, Canterbury, NZ
  • Pedro Sanhueza, Office for the Protection of the Night Sky of Northern Chile (OPCC) (with Guillermo Damke, Universidad de La Serena/AURA Inc. Chile, Rodolfo Angeloni, Universidad de La Serena, Chile, Miguel Martínez, OPCC, Chile Hugo Rojas, OPCC, Chile)
  • Ramotholo Sefako, South African Astronomical Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa
  • Mayor Graham Smith, Mackenzie District
  • Richard Somerville-Ryan, Great Barrier Island – Aotea, Auckland
  • Duncan Steel, Xerra Earth Observation Institute, Alexandra, Central Otago, NZ
  • Babak Tafreshi, founder of The World at Night Boston, Massachusetts, USA
  • Karen Trevino, US National Park Service, Denver, CO, USA
  • Alexander Tups, Department of Physiology, Centre of Neuroendocrinology and Brain Health Research Centre, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand
  • Antonia Varela Perez, Director of the Starlight Foundation, Institute of Astrophysics of the Canary Islands, Tenerife, Spain
  • Richard Wainscoat, Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii, Honolulu, HI, USA
  • Junichi Watanabe, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan
  • David Welch, Chair of the IUCN Dark Skies Advisory Group, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Kim Wesney, Waiheke Island
  • Jill Wolff, Naseby Vision, Naseby, Central Otago, NZ
  • Kyra Xavia, Dunedin
  • Amie Young, Tourism Product Development Advisor, Great South
  • Dwi Yoshafetri Yuna, Bosscha Observatory, Institut Teknologi Bandung, Bandung, Indonesia